To Market, To Market… Or not.

3 Mar

As I’ve previously shared, one of the biggest challenges I face as a new parent is the lack of time in a day.  And with the weekends *finally* getting warmer, the last place I want hang with my munchkin on a Saturday morning is the grocery store.  So, as part of my tech-experiment, one of the digital time savers techno(t)parent is exploring this week is the Peapod online grocery shopping/delivery service from Stop & Shop.   

This local, convenient service allows me to make a digital shopping list (grin), save it, pay for everything online, and then schedule my order for delivery directly to my home later in the week – all for a relatively small fee. 

I’m cautiously optimistic about the service.  My mom (who lives in another state) has used it with success before when caring for an elderly relative, and she’s been prodding me to give it a try.  So, this week, I’ll be throwing my grocery cart (and shopping list) to the wind.  And perhaps the hour or so I save will translate into a walk in the park with the peanut – or dare I selfishly say – a quick mani/pedi next weekend?

Stay tuned for my personal account and review of Peapod.  Wish me luck, and feel free to share any positive or negative experiences you’ve had with any similar services…

7 Responses to “To Market, To Market… Or not.”

  1. kiran March 3, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    How did using the Peapod service go? Is it similar to FreshDirect or is there more flexibility, i.e. you can fix an hour for delivery?

    • technotparent March 7, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

      You can fix a delivery “window”, but not specific hour… A little inconvenient, but if you have a regular schedule, you can plan around it…

  2. Susan March 5, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    I have 2 friends who have had a grocery service like this (not sure of the name of their company) and have LOVED it! Hope it works for you too.

  3. andrea March 7, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    liz used our local grocery store (safeway.com) and they forgot a number of things, just make sure you match up your list with what you got. it was convenient though, much easier than dragging 2 kids, where everyone ends up in tears. ;o)

  4. NupurR March 8, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    Definitely let me know how this went! I was a religious FreshDirect user until we moved a few years ago to a neighborhood that they don’t deliver to. I’ve been meaning to try Peapod but haven’t had the chance yet.

  5. Susan March 26, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Just wondering if you have continued to shop like this or not?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Groceries Gone Digital « techno(t)parent - March 27, 2011

    […] few weeks ago, I tried the Peapod grocery service by Stop & Shop.  While it went well, it was a challenge to schedule the drop off window for a time I could […]

Leave a Reply

